Loading... Please wait...

Latest News - Mitre 10 Cup

Power Packed Backline A Feature Of Taranaki Mitre 10 Cup Squad


Eighteen players with Investec Super Rugby experience, three Mitre 10 Cup debutants and 541 combined games for Taranaki.

These all feature in the 2016 Port Taranaki Bulls squad unveiled by head coach Colin Cooper ahead of the team’s first Mitre 10 Cup game against Bay of Plenty in Tauranga on 20 August.


Seven players are in line to make their Port Taranaki Bulls debuts this season. Hurricanes and Coastal prop Mike Kainga bolsters the front row following the departure of Angus Ta’avao to the Waratahs in 2015, while 26 year-old Reds second rower Ben Matwijow and New Zealand Under 20s representative Fin Hoeata replenish the locking stocks that were diminished by injuries to James Broadhurst, Riki Hoeata and Blade Thomson.

In the backs, 20-year-old Johnny Fa’auli adds depth to the midfield which boasts All Blacks Seta Tamanivalu and Charlie Ngatai. Exciting backs Marty McKenzie and Sean Wainui return after impressive performances for the Crusaders while 19-year-old Spotswood United winger Manasa Mataele, All Blacks Sevens representative Declan O’Donnell and promising New Zealand Under 20s representative Stephen Perofeta complete the backline additions for 2016. Together with All Blacks Beauden Barrett and Waisake Naholo, the Taranaki backline shapes as one of the more dynamic in the competition.

Two familiar faces return to Taranaki in 2016. Lock Leon Power rejoins the Port Taranaki Bulls after honing his trade most recently with French club Oyonnax. All Blacks Sevens and Clifton utility back Beaudein Waaka will also don the amber and black jersey this season, adding to his 11 caps for the province.


Mitchell Graham (23)
Reuben O’Neill (3)
Ryan Cocker (25)
Mike Kainga*
Jared Proffit (1)
Rhys Marshall (30)
Sione Lea (38)
Leon Power (23)
Ben Matwijow*
Fin Hoeata*
Leighton Price (10)
Mitchell Crosswell (31)
Mitchell Brown (15)
Berny Hall (32)
Lachlan Boshier (9)
Toa Halafihi (13)
Iopu Iopu-Aso (14)

Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (11)
Kylem O’Donnell (16)
Marty McKenzie (16)
Sean Wainui (12)
Seta Tamanivalu (37)
Charlie Ngatai (20)
Johnny Fa’auli*
Latu Vaeno (11)
Manasa Mataele*
Stephen Perofeta*
Declan O’Donnell*
Beaudein Waaka (11)
Jackson Ormond (50)
Waisake Naholo (31)
Beauden Barrett (26)

Injury Cover:
Isaia Tuifua (33)

()= Port Taranaki Bulls caps
*= denotes debut for Taranaki

View Comments

Twelve New Caps in Makos Mitre 10 Cup Squad

The Tasman Makos coaches and management have named a squad of 32 players to contest the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup Premiership. The team is split between 17 forwards and 15 backs and will be captained by Shane Christie.There is a good balance of experience – 16 players with Super Rugby experience – and freshness, with 12 [...]

Read More »

Mix of Star Power and Experience in Magpies Mitre 10 Cup Squad

Newly promoted Hawkes Bay Magpies have named a vastly experience squad to contest the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup Premiership.Magpies coaches Craig Philpott and Danny Lee have included many top performing players from across the five New Zealand Super Rugby teams as well as a number of young players from the Hawkes Bay club rugby scene.The [...]

Read More »

10 New Faces in Waikato Mitre 10 Cup Squad

A 30-man Waikato squad, featuring 10 players in their first season with the province, has been named ahead of the upcoming 2016 Mitre 10 Cup season.Among the new faces are four players with plenty of first class experience - Hurricanes midfield back Willis Halaholo, former North Harbour and Blues Development Number 8 Jordan Manihera, former [...]

Read More »

Steelers Mitre 10 Cup Squad announced

Steelers coaches Darryl Suasua, Grant Henson and Semo Sititi have announced their squad for the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup. The squad includes 12 new players, with New Zealand Under 20’s representatives Jonathan Taumateine and Orbyn Leger among the new faces. Former New Zealand Secondary Schools captain Sootala Fa’aso’o is included in the squad alongside returning [...]

Read More »

Steamers Announce 2016 Mitre 10 Cup Squad

2016 Steamers Team Announced The Bay of Plenty Steamers management today have named their 2016 squad for the upcoming 2016 Mitre 10 Cup season. Head coach Clayton McMillan believes they have assembled a squad with a good blend of enthusiastic debutants and experience, with 24 capped players in the team. “We’ve selected an outstanding group of men, hardworking, [...]

Read More »

North Harbour Name Mitre 10 Cup Squad

Steve Jackson today announced his QBE North Harbour 29 man squad for the upcoming Mitre 10 Cup campaign. Putting it bluntly, Jackson is excited “This squad has been selected on club form, with a number of players forcing their way into our thinking based on their individual performances week after week. There are always tough [...]

Read More »

One Veteran Departs and Another Returns to Southland Stags Mitre 10 Cup Squad

New Stags coach Hoani MacDonald has started his tenure with a big call by leaving veteran prop Jamie Mackintosh out of his 28-man squad for the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup.Mackintosh has been captain of the Stags since 2008 and is replaced by 27-year-old hooker Brayden Mitchell at the helm of the Stags.Macdonald said the decision [...]

Read More »

Local Stars Boost Turbos For Mitre 10 Cup

Turbos Head Coach, Jeremy Cotter has selected a number of local players to make up his squad for the forthcoming Mitre 10 Cup competition.Liam Hallam-Eames (OBM), Curtis Reid (COB), Tukiterangi Raimona (OBM), Travis Taylor (Fielding), Tim Cadwallader (COB) and Harrison Brewer (Te Kawau) have all been newly contracted for the 2016 season.“These boys have really [...]

Read More »

Northland Name Mitre 10 Cup Squad

2016 Northland Mitre 10 Cup Team Announced Thirty-six players have been chosen in the Northland Mitre 10 Cup team for 2016. All players are Northland based and, outside the Super players, play club rugby in Northland.Five Academy players have been included in order to further develop and to provide cover for injured players, returning Super players and players involved in club finals [...]

Read More »


Sign up to our newsletter