Loading... Please wait...

Highlanders Name team to take on Brumbies in Super Rugby Quarter Final


Pulse Energy Highlanders to play the Brumbies in the quarterfinals

After finishing fifth on the table at the end of the regular season the Pulse Energy Highlanders will take on the Australian Conference winners and sole remaining Australian team the Brumbies in the quarter finals this Friday night.

The starting team has just two personnel changes with No.8 Liam Squire gaining a start after impressing from the bench last week, meaning a shift for the versatile Luke Whitelock to lock. After recovering from illness co-captain Shane Christie is back on the side of the scrum replacing James Lentjes, Christie has missed the last two matches but has been passed fit to play and will make his 11th appearance for the season. Prop Josh Hohneck and hooker Ash Dixon will celebrate their 50th Super Rugby game.

Head Coach Jamie Joseph has returned to the more conventional 5/3 split on the bench with Rob Thompson coming in as the extra back and lock Alex Ainley missing out on the 23 this week.

Brumbies v Pulse Energy Highlanders - GIO Stadium, Canberra, Fri 22 July 6.00pm (AEST) 8.00pm (NZT)

1. Daniel Lienert-Brown

2. Ash Dixon

3. Josh Hohneck

4. Tom Franklin

5. Luke Whitelock

6. Elliot Dixon

7. Shane Christie ( cc )

8. Liam Squire

9. Aaron Smith

10. Lima Sopoaga

11. Patrick Osborne

12. Malakai Fekitoa

13. Matt Faddes

14. Waisake Naholo

15. Ben Smith ( cc )


16. Liam Coltman

17. Aki Seiuli

18. Siosiua Halanukonuka

19. Mark Reddish

20. Dan Pryor

21. Te Aihe Toma

22. Fletcher Smith

23. Rob Thompson

comments powered by Disqus


Sign up to our newsletter