Loading... Please wait...

Latest News

Power Packed Backline A Feature Of Taranaki Mitre 10 Cup Squad


Eighteen players with Investec Super Rugby experience, three Mitre 10 Cup debutants and 541 combined games for Taranaki.

These all feature in the 2016 Port Taranaki Bulls squad unveiled by head coach Colin Cooper ahead of the team’s first Mitre 10 Cup game against Bay of Plenty in Tauranga on 20 August.


Seven players are in line to make their Port Taranaki Bulls debuts this season. Hurricanes and Coastal prop Mike Kainga bolsters the front row following the departure of Angus Ta’avao to the Waratahs in 2015, while 26 year-old Reds second rower Ben Matwijow and New Zealand Under 20s representative Fin Hoeata replenish the locking stocks that were diminished by injuries to James Broadhurst, Riki Hoeata and Blade Thomson.

In the backs, 20-year-old Johnny Fa’auli adds depth to the midfield which boasts All Blacks Seta Tamanivalu and Charlie Ngatai. Exciting backs Marty McKenzie and Sean Wainui return after impressive performances for the Crusaders while 19-year-old Spotswood United winger Manasa Mataele, All Blacks Sevens representative Declan O’Donnell and promising New Zealand Under 20s representative Stephen Perofeta complete the backline additions for 2016. Together with All Blacks Beauden Barrett and Waisake Naholo, the Taranaki backline shapes as one of the more dynamic in the competition.

Two familiar faces return to Taranaki in 2016. Lock Leon Power rejoins the Port Taranaki Bulls after honing his trade most recently with French club Oyonnax. All Blacks Sevens and Clifton utility back Beaudein Waaka will also don the amber and black jersey this season, adding to his 11 caps for the province.


Mitchell Graham (23)
Reuben O’Neill (3)
Ryan Cocker (25)
Mike Kainga*
Jared Proffit (1)
Rhys Marshall (30)
Sione Lea (38)
Leon Power (23)
Ben Matwijow*
Fin Hoeata*
Leighton Price (10)
Mitchell Crosswell (31)
Mitchell Brown (15)
Berny Hall (32)
Lachlan Boshier (9)
Toa Halafihi (13)
Iopu Iopu-Aso (14)

Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (11)
Kylem O’Donnell (16)
Marty McKenzie (16)
Sean Wainui (12)
Seta Tamanivalu (37)
Charlie Ngatai (20)
Johnny Fa’auli*
Latu Vaeno (11)
Manasa Mataele*
Stephen Perofeta*
Declan O’Donnell*
Beaudein Waaka (11)
Jackson Ormond (50)
Waisake Naholo (31)
Beauden Barrett (26)

Injury Cover:
Isaia Tuifua (33)

()= Port Taranaki Bulls caps
*= denotes debut for Taranaki

View Comments

Twelve New Caps in Makos Mitre 10 Cup Squad

The Tasman Makos coaches and management have named a squad of 32 players to contest the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup Premiership. The team is split between 17 forwards and 15 backs and will be captained by Shane Christie.There is a good balance of experience – 16 players with Super Rugby experience – and freshness, with 12 [...]

Read More »

Mix of Star Power and Experience in Magpies Mitre 10 Cup Squad

Newly promoted Hawkes Bay Magpies have named a vastly experience squad to contest the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup Premiership.Magpies coaches Craig Philpott and Danny Lee have included many top performing players from across the five New Zealand Super Rugby teams as well as a number of young players from the Hawkes Bay club rugby scene.The [...]

Read More »

10 New Faces in Waikato Mitre 10 Cup Squad

A 30-man Waikato squad, featuring 10 players in their first season with the province, has been named ahead of the upcoming 2016 Mitre 10 Cup season.Among the new faces are four players with plenty of first class experience - Hurricanes midfield back Willis Halaholo, former North Harbour and Blues Development Number 8 Jordan Manihera, former [...]

Read More »

Sonny Bill Williams Ruled out for up to 8 months

Sonny Bill Williams will been on the sidelines for between 6-8 months after earlier today partially rupturing his Achilles tendon during the All Black 7s first up loss to Japan at the Rio Olympics.This means Williams will miss the Rugby Championship, the All Blacks end of year tour and atleast the first part of Super [...]

Read More »

Sonny Bill Williams only change in All Blacks

All Blacks squad named for 2016 Investec Rugby Championship The All Blacks selectors, Steve Hansen, Ian Foster and Grant Fox, have selected their squad for the 2016 Investec Rugby Championship. The squad is as follows: (with province, Investec Super Rugby [...]

Read More »

Hurricanes Name Coles Despite Injury

Hurricanes captain Dane Coles will be given until match day to prove his fitness for Saturday’s Investec Super Rugby semifinal against the Chiefs at Westpac Stadium. Coles has been bracketed at hooker with Ricky Riccitelli in an otherwise unchanged Hurricanes team from the one which beat the Sharks 41-0 in last weekend’s quarterfinal. Riccitelli has been bracketed with New Zealand Under [...]

Read More »

Blues Centre Rene Ranger Appears in Court

New Zealand Rugby and the Blues have initiated misconduct proceedings against Rene Ranger following a drink driving incident earlier this month. Ranger appeared today at the Waitakere District Court and pleaded guilty to charges of careless driving and drink driving. He was convicted, and disqualified from driving for seven months, fined $800 and ordered to pay court costs. Blues Rugby Chief [...]

Read More »

Steelers Mitre 10 Cup Squad announced

Steelers coaches Darryl Suasua, Grant Henson and Semo Sititi have announced their squad for the 2016 Mitre 10 Cup. The squad includes 12 new players, with New Zealand Under 20’s representatives Jonathan Taumateine and Orbyn Leger among the new faces. Former New Zealand Secondary Schools captain Sootala Fa’aso’o is included in the squad alongside returning [...]

Read More »

Steamers Announce 2016 Mitre 10 Cup Squad

2016 Steamers Team Announced The Bay of Plenty Steamers management today have named their 2016 squad for the upcoming 2016 Mitre 10 Cup season. Head coach Clayton McMillan believes they have assembled a squad with a good blend of enthusiastic debutants and experience, with 24 capped players in the team. “We’ve selected an outstanding group of men, hardworking, [...]

Read More »


Recent Updates

Sign up to our newsletter